Wednesday, 26 October 2016 00:00

Pisay Bicol rules Congressional Presscon 2016

With a total of 65 points garnered in different individual and group events, PSHS BRC was declared as the overall champion of te 4th Congressional Secondary Schools Press Conference 2016 last October 12.

The said event was held at San Jose National High School with the theme, "Strengthening Freedom of Information through Campus Journlism."

In English category, winners include Andrei Jaluague (first place, feature writing); Sophia Mae Beso (first place, photojournalism); Paul Leander Borrega (first place, news writing); Guila Allesandra Bulalacao (second place, editorial writing); Kate Therese Noel (second place, science and health writing); Lawrence Christopher Bariso (fifth place, sports writing); Rochelle Sanares (fifth place, copyreading and headline writing); and Justin Conception (fifth place, editorial cartooning).

Meanwhile, the Filipino category winners were Emie Jenelle Asanza (first place, news writing); Stephanie Louise Molod (first place, photojournalism); Christina Joy Saludes (second place, editorial writing); Charlie Chris Dimaala (third place, feature writing); Denise Ibarondo (third place, sports writing); Jerome Imperial (fourth place, copyreading and headline writing); and Christine Maica Caneso (eighth place, science and health writing).

Aside from the individual events, Collaborative publishing teams for both English and Filipino category won first place.

The English team was composed of Hannah Fenina Estrella, John Kenneth Realingo, Jairus Ralf Bejer, Sophia Rodriguez, Nica Del Gallego, Mikaela San Ramon and Ian Jason Ebio.

Ariel Benjamin Olaes, John Dodi Cabug, Jude Steven Candelaria, Jeo Nicholas Zagada, Edrian Divinaflor, Noel Pitallano Jr. And Dona Aurora Leyretana made up the Filipino team.

Also, the Radio broadcasting team for English composed of Glenn Paolo Morales, Althea Mella, Justin Ashley Naval, Martha Jean Basilla, Duane Rivera, Geneva Israel and Jose Pocholo Dorongon won the first place.

The same goes for the Filipino team composed of Xavier Axl Roncesvalles, Jeremy Baluyo, Aian Anthony Baal, Grace Louchel Silvio, Angelica Primee Ador, Angelica Cielo Doctor and Patricia Noel.

The scholars with Mary Ann Templado, Jerry Noveno and Kemuel Joseph Buitizon as their coaches will move on to the division level to be conducted at Sipocot National High School on October 20-22, 2016.