Print this page
Monday, 16 January 2012 05:06

21 students qualify to regional press con; Sy voted outstanding campus journalist of Camarines Sur Featured

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)


Twenty-one scholars will compete in the Regional Secondary Schools Press Conference (RSSPC) next month after winning in the Division Secondary Schools Press Conference (DSSPC) at Rodriguez National High School, Pili, Camarines Sur, January 12-13.

The winners include Kendra Ivana Sy, first place in photo journalism (English); Ma. Khryster Lee Bellen, first place in copy reading and headline writing (English); Jayson Sime Jeremias, first place in copy reading and headline writing (Filipino); Odilon Picaso, second place in feature writing (Filipino); Julia Mae Casupang, third place, news writing (English); Pauline Marie Belmonte, fourth place in photo journalism (Filipino); Maria Larisse Hernandez, fourth place in feature writing (English); and Kim Bryan Bertiz, ninth place in editorial cartooning (English).

Except for Bertiz, the winners shall compete in the regionals.

Joseph Emmanuel Lomibao, Abigail Abragan, Ferna Del Simbulan, Zyeanne Millon, Angelica Jao, Dennis Joshua Dolot, and Nikko Capuno also got first place in radio broadcasting (English). Lomibao was also named Best Anchor, Abragan Best Reporter, Nikko Capuno Best Technical Scoring. The team was also awarded Best Script.

The radio broadcasting - Filipino team also got first place. Members were Joyce Baclili, Vitex Paguirigan, Jason Delos Reyes, Shaira Cariño, Ina Francis Balomaga, Claudette Cledera, and Lawrence Bernardo Perez. Baclili and Paguirigan were named Best Anchors, Perez Best Reporter, Cledera and Perez Best Infomercial, Delos Reyes Best Technical Scoring, and the whole team winning the Best Script award.

Both teams shall compete in the regional level of said event.

Meanwhile, Sy, the editor-in-chief of the Bicol Scholar, was declared outstanding campus journalist of the division of Camarines Sur. Her award is attested to by her consistent placement in the division and regional levels, remarkable academic performance, and exemplary leadership.

Mr. Jerry Noveno, adviser of the Bicol Scholar and trainer of press conference participants, also ranked first in the Outstanding School Paper Adviser search of the division.

Alongside Mr. Noveno, the other teachers present in the DSSPC were Mrs. Erma Bue, adviser of Arab-Adab (Filipino publication of the campus), and Ms. Mylene Oliver and Mrs. Mary Ann Templado as teacher-assistants.


By Julia Mae F. Casupang

Read 1864 times Last modified on Tuesday, 10 December 2013 07:48